An Association of Local Governments: Serving Southwestern Utah since 1972

Phone:(435)673-3548 Fax:(435)673-3540 Address: 1070 W. 1600 S., Bldg. B; St. George, UT

Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

The Five County Association of Governments is a voluntary association of local governments from the five southwestern counties of the State of Utah. The five counties in southwestern Utah that comprise the Five County Association of Governments are Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane and Washington.

The year 2016 marks the 44th anniversary of the formal establishment of the Five County Association of Governments. While the Five County AOG was officially created in 1972, informal cooperation amongst the five member counties, as a group, along with the municipalities within the five counties, has happened for well over half a century.

Farsighted leaders of the past envisioned the time when our world-class scenic landscapes, mild climate, beautiful communities and hard-working people would foster the evolution of a major regional center in the West. That time has arrived. Southwestern Utah has come into its own. The Five County Association of Governments is a key player in aiding locally elected officials in coping with regional challenges.

The Association has a main office location in the Tonaquint Center High Tech Business Park in St. George City and a satellite office in Cedar City. We also have dedicated staff in other locations within our service areas. More information on the Association, including our Vision and Mission, can be viewed using the "What is The FCAOG" link on the "About" tab above. Our office addresses, as well as maps to locate them, are found using the "Contact" tab above.

Five County News


The next meeting of the Steering Committee, the governing body of the Five County Association of Governments, will be held on Wednesday, February 10, 2016 beginning at 2:00 p.m. at the Beaver City Office; 30 West 300 North; Beaver, Utah.  The Steering Committee is comprised of a county commissioner from each county in this region, a designated mayor's representative from each county and an elected school board representative from each county.  Steering Committee meetings are public meetings and the public is invited to attend.  A packet of materials is sent out for the meeting to all Steering Committee members.  That material is available to everyone, either on the Utah Public Meeting Notice web site, or directly through a link below here in this news item section.

Click HERE to view the Steering Committee meeting agenda as posted on Utah Public Meeting Notices web site. Materials sent to each Committee member can also be viewed by the public on that site. Be sure to bookmark this Five County AOG home page as a "favorite" so you can easily return here.

You can also quickly download the complete Steering Committee meeting packet here directly, as a PDF file, by clicking on this LINK.

Community Services Directory 2015 EditionThe popular Community Services Resource Directory for southwestern Utah has been updated and published for 2015. The Directory, published with Community Services Block Grant funding, is distributed through the Community Action Partnership of the Five County Association of Governments.

While the Directory is targeted primarily to the under served population, many services apply to all levels of income and need. The Directory is available to view online or may be purchased. 

To view the Directory, please vist the H.E.A.T. and Community Action website at this link:

Six times each year the Five County Association of Governments publishes a widely circulated and informative newsletter entitled "FIVE COUNTY NEWS FROM 'R' VIEW". The latest edition, the January-February 2016 edition, was just published. The newsletter is out mailed to county, city and town leaders and other individuals in our five county region, as well as to other regional, state and federal agencies.  You can also conveniently view the newsletter on this web site.

Click HERE to go to the Association's newsletter page to view and/or download the latest edition of the newsletter.   (You can also view all past editions of the Association's newsletters on that same page).

Comprehensive Economic Development StrategyThe updated Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) document for the Five County Association of Governments economic development region was submitted to U.S. Department of Commerce, Economic Development Administration Denver Region as a final document. For more information on the CEDS document, please contact Bryan Thiriot, Executive Director, Five County Association of Goverments, via e-mail: or by telephone: (435) 673-3548.

Click HERE to view the Final CEDS Document.  (7.26MB PDF file)

The Five County Association of Government's HUD required Consolidated Plan documents housing, community, economic development, homelessness and other special needs in southwestern Utah. 
This regional Consolidated Plan is updated and amended annually by the Community & Economic Development and Human Services staff at the Association.  The plan may be viewed by using the link below. The plan was adopted on April 8, 2015 by the Steering Committee (our governing board).  Please click HERE for more information on the Consolidated Plan.

Please click HERE to view the Consolidated Plan 1 Year Action Plan.  (The link is to a PDF file)

Please click HERE to view the Year 2-5 Consolidated Plan. (The link is to a PDF file)

The Five County Association of Governments has a Revolving Loan Fund. The purpose of the Revolving Loan Fund (RLF) is to create permanent, long-term jobs within the southwestern region of Utah by providing gap financing to qualified businesses for eligible activities.  Loans made through the Revolving Loan Fund are intended to help bridge the gap created by shortfalls in commercial financing. Funds are repaid into the program and recycled to other businesses, thus allowing an on-going job creation program. Funds are available in Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane and Washington County, Utah.

The Microloan Program focuses on loans of $25,000 or less. The importance of these loans lies in their ability to offset the difficulty that businesses experience in receiving traditional bank financing. If a candidate needs more than $25,000 they are encouraged to apply through the regular Five County Revolving Loan Fund which can provide gap financing in conjuction with a primary commercial lender. We can fund up to 50% of a project with up to $200,000 of RLF participation.

To find out more about these two loan funds, visit our seperate web site:

As required by Utah Code the Five County Association of Governments publishes all of its public meetings on the "Utah Public Meeting Notice" (UPMN) web site.  

You can search for our meetings by date or subject keyword.  To locate all of the meeting announcement postings published on the UPMN site by the Five County Association of Governments you can use this link and use the "Advanced Search" tab. You will need to type in the word five into the "Entity" box, highlight the "Five County Association of Governments" link that comes up, select a date range you want to view and then click on the "Submit" button. It will then show all upcoming meetings scheduled by the Five County AOG in the date range you selected.

Alternatively, you can use this LINK, choose to Find a Notice, and select "Special Districts" for Government type, choose "Five County Association of Governments" for the Entity, and you will see the Public Body list with links to each of them.

Shown above are only the most recent announcements and/or news. To view all of the other news and happenings, please click HERE or on the  'News/Events' link found on this or any of our web pages. You can also use the link provided directly below:

Click Here for more info on other news and happenings at the FCAOG.